21 thoughts on “Homemade Bagels

  1. Now you’ve won my heart, I have been obsessed with bagels since 14 years old and it’s somewhat of a joke in my family. I once lived on bagels, apples and frozen yogurt. Life without bagels is not worth living. Ok, that last comment wasn’t serious, but happy belated birthday you young gun!!! Sounds like a wonderful, even if expensive, trip and I am FOR SURE making these bagels. They look dense and chewy just like I like them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Sue!! 😀 Bagels, apples, and frozen yogurt – there’s a good balance there of carbs fruit and dairy! Haha! You should definitely try these- they’ve made me realize I’ve been seriouslyl missing out on more bagels in my life!

      Like

  2. Soooooooo… last night I was looking at some mini bagels that we have on the counter thinking, “that’d be a cool blog post, I wonder how you make bagels. Wonder if it’s hard. I bet it’s hard. Tracy should make bagels.”- Next day, homemade bagels post. Creeepppyyyyy. (Oh, and PS, I just ate a bagel.)

    Like

  3. Funny – just as I had decided to make some for tomorrow! I have a recipe where you need to rest them overnight, which gives them a more sour flavour. But yours look lovely! Who cares about the hole in the middle, anyway!
    Happy Birthday!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Weekly favorite food posts | Edible Reflections

  5. How funny, the first thing that catches my eye on your site is something I have been wondering how to make myself recently. These look great! I never would have thought of putting them in water first – does that help lighten them up? Must give them a try.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Homemade Cream Cheese | Scratch It

  7. When you added the additional 1 1/2 cups of flour, 1/2 cup at a time and then kneaded until no longer sticky–why didn’t you continue to do all of that in the stand mixer, instead of by hand? Seems that would have been so much easier and quicker, especially since the dough was already in the stand mixer.

    Like

    • That’s a good question, Susan. And the only answer I have is, “Because Emeril said so,” But my guess would be because by hand you can really tell wheb it’s no longer sticky faster and you’ll have a better feel for how much flour to use. With that said, now I’ll prob try it in the mixer next time so save time! 😉

      Like

  8. Pingback: Crock Pot Beef Stew - The Cozy Cook

Leave a comment