Egg Salad from Scratch

My husband was in the mood for egg salad for lunches.  He’s gotten his Como Bread down and is on a pretty regular schedule for making it so we always have it in the house.  Poor me, I know.   Homemade mayo has been on my list to make for awhile, so this was the perfect excuse for me to finally make it.  Egg salad from scratch, yay!

egg salad

Super simple ingredients.  Hard boiled eggs, mayo, Dijon mustard, celery, and salt.

egg salad 2

First thing I did (after I hard boiled a dozen eggs and forgot to take pictures of it), was I peeled the eggs.  Oh and I had a glass of Barbera.  Because cooking and drinking wine are like peanut butter and jelly.  Except I’ve never had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  Right? I hated jelly as a kid and now it’s like why break my almost 30 (omg) year streak of never having had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  I mean is it really that good?  I’m not a huge fan of peanut butter sandwiches anyway so I think I’d rather keep my PB&J free streak.

egg salad 3

Anyway… once I had the eggs peeled, I added some of our homemade mayo.  My husband laughed at me for using a fork for this but my logic was pretty sound because I knew we needed a fork to break up the eggs so I was just saving us from having to wash that extra spoon.  So there.

egg salad 4

Then we just mashed the eggs in the bowl with the mayo.  And by we, I mean Dan.  I kind of poked at them for a minute and went, “how…?” to Dan and so then he sighed and took the bowl and fork from me and told me I was over thinking it.  wanted to use the little egg slicer thing I bought one day because it was right next to the check out in some kitchen store and it was only $5 and it was just like the one my mom used to always use when we were kids, and I still haven’t used it yet.  Dan balked at it and it said a fork was all we needed.  So that little egg slicer still sits in the back of a drawer unused.

egg salad 6

So he mashed up the eggs.  Basically he squished them up against the side of the bowl while turning the bowl to get all the eggs.

egg salad 7

Until they were like this.

egg salad 8

And then he decided it needed more mayo so I grabbed a spoon and added another tablespoon, and went, “dammit!”  So much for operation don’t dirty a spoon.   Oh well.  Then it needed mustard so I grabbed another spoon and put in about a Tablespoon of Dijon mustard.  Dammit again.

egg salad 9

Then I added some diced celery for color and crunch and some salt.

egg salad 10

Mmmm.  Egg salad

.

egg salad 11

With just a couple of slices of Dan’s Como Bread

es1

…  my husband has lunch!

Egg Salad

  • 12 hard boiled eggs
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup of mayo 
  • 1/4 cup of Dijon mustard
  • 2 celery stalks diced
  • salt to taste

Hard boil the eggs and peel them.  Place them in a bowl with the mayo and mash.  Add mustard, salt, and celery and mix.  Adjust amounts of ingredients as wanted.  Remember, you can always add more, but can’t take it away.  That’s what my husband always says.

Leave a comment